Scholarships and Fellowships

The Charles A. Barth Scholarship in Space Research

The Charles A. Barth Scholarship in Space Research will contribute to tuition costs of an undergraduate at the University of Colorado Boulder in studies related to space research at the Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics (LASP). For the Fall semester, we expect that there will be two awards, each to cover $1,500 in tuition.

Applicants should submit a 300-word statement of their proposed research project, an up-to-date academic transcript, and a one-page CV that includes any previous research experience and lists the researcher who would supervise the applicant’s work, plus an additional potential reference.

Please send a single .pdf file to

Charles Barth

Charles Barth

Dr. Charles A. Barth received his Ph.D. from UCLA, and was a National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Bonn from 1958-59. Before coming to LASP, he worked as a Research Physicist at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory from 1959 to 1965. Dr. Barth was the Director of LASP from 1965 to 1992. He was an Associate Professor from 1965 to 1967 and a Professor in the Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences from 1967 to 2002. Dr. Barth was a Professor Emeritus at LASP and in the Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences at CU Boulder from 2002 through 2014.

Zac Milby is senior in the CU Boulder Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences who works with advisor Nick Schneider (left) on MAVEN IUVS nitric oxide observations in the Mars atmosphere. (Courtesy LASP)

Carlos Eytan Gary Bicas is a senior in the CU Boulder Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences who works with advisor Paul Hayne (left) on Mars atmospheric sounding and the polar radiation budget using data from the Mars Climate Sounder, onboard NASA’s Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter. (Courtesy LASP)

Between 1962 and 2002, Dr. Barth served as Principal Investigator for eleven missions and experiments. Among these were Mariner 5, Mariner 6 and 7, Mariner 9, OGO-2, 4, 5, and 6, Atmosphere Explorer-C and D, the Solar Mesosphere Explorer, and the Student Nitric Oxide Experiment. He was a Co-Investigator for ultraviolet experiments on Apollo 17, Pioneer Venus, Galileo, and Cassini. Dr. Barth served on the NASA Space and Earth Science Advisory Committee (1982-1985), the NASA Advisory Council’s Solar System Exploration Committee (1980-1987), and as a Distinguished Visiting Scientist at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (1995).

We are pleased to announce that the 2018 Charles A. Barth Scholarships in Space Research were awarded to LASP undergraduate researchers Zac Milby and Carlos Eytan Gary Bicas.



Past Recipients:

Year Photo Student name LASP advisor
2017 Parker Hinton Parker Hinton Fran Bagenal
Rachel Lee McClure Rachel Lee McClure Mark Rast
2016 Skylar Shaver Skylar Shaver Laila Andersson
2015 Willow Reed Willow Reed Marty Snow
2014 Willow Reed Wren Suess Marty Snow

The John T. Gosling Endowed Fellowship

For the John T. Gosling Endowed Fellowship, two fellowships of $2,000 will be awarded to graduate students who have demonstrated an intention to study solar-terrestrial physics and/or space plasma physics including the study of the Sun, the study of the solar wind, the study of the Sun-Earth connection, and the study of the solar wind’s interaction with planetary magnetospheres.

CU faculty are encouraged to send a one-page description of the prospective recipient’s academic background and what projects the candidate will (or might be) working on at CU, to

John T. Gosling

John T. Gosling

Dr. John (Jack) T. Gosling was a Senior Research Associate at the University of Colorado’s Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics (LASP). He was also a Laboratory Fellow at Los Alamos National Laboratory. Dr. Gosling received his PhD in physics from the University of California Berkeley in 1965.

Dr. Gosling’s research focused on the large-scale structure and magnetic topology of the solar wind, coronal mass ejections, solar wind and geomagnetic disturbances, magnetic reconnection, collisionless shocks, and particle acceleration in space. He worked extensively with plasma and magnetic field data from Vela 2 and 3, IMP 6, 7, and 8, ISEE 1, 2, and 3, Helios, Ulysses, Wind, the Advanced Composition Explorer (ACE), and STEREO and with coronagraph data from Skylab. He was the Principal Investigator for data analysis for plasma experiments on IMP 6, 7, and 8 and ISEE 1, 2, and 3. He also was actively involved in analyzing and interpreting solar wind data from ACE, Wind, and STEREO.

Hilary Egan works with David Brain on global plasma modeling of atmospheric ion loss from planets. (Courtesy LASP)

The 2018 recipients of the John T. Gosling Endowed Fellowships are Hilary Egan and Lily Kromyda.

Lily Kromyda works with Bob Ergun investigating the physics of magnetic reconnection and its role in turbulence and charged particle acceleration using MMS observations in the Earth’s magnetosphere and solar wind.





Past Recipients:

Year Photo Student name LASP advisor
2017 Rebecca Jolitz Rebecca Jolitz David Brain
Leng Khoo Leng Khoo Xinlin Li
2016 Eddie Nerney and Chris Fowler Eddie Nerney and Chris Fowler Fran Bagenal (Eddie) and Bob Ergun (Chris)
2015 Katherine Goodrich Katherine Goodrich Bob Ergun
Kun Zhang Kun Zhang Xinlin Li
2014 Julia Stawarz and Tristan Weber Julia Stalwarz and Tristan Weber Bob Ergun