University of Colorado at Boulder University of Colorado CU Home Search A to Z Index Map

Project Development Committee

New Horizons at Pluto

The Student Dust Counter, flying aboard NASA New Horizons, began a new era of LASP expertise in dust detection. The instrument's technology got its start with internal funding allocated by the PDC. (Courtesy JHU APL/SwRI)

The Project Development Committee (PDC) provides guidance for the review and development of instrument and operations proposals for major new business opportunities. The PDC strives to assure that LASP project proposals are appropriate for the direction of the laboratory’s individual science disciplines and the laboratory as a whole, are supported appropriately by the LASP technical divisions, and are structured to be successful in proposal and implementation.

The PDC also allocates internal funding for exploratory work, based on an annual LASP Internal Research and Development (IRD) proposal call. IRD-supported technologies have been important test grounds for developing new areas of LASP expertise.

PDC membership includes:

  • Tom Woods (Chair)
  • Randy Siders
  • Ginger Drake
  • Bob Ergun
  • Bruce Jakosky
  • Greg Kopp
  • Mark Lankton
  • David Laumbach
  • Bill McClintock
  • Beth McGilvray
  • Mike McGrath
  • Chris Pankratz
  • Bill Possel
  • Heather Reed
  • Erik Richard
  • Sean Ryan
  • Zoltan Sternovsky
  • Tom Sparn
  • Gail Tate
  • Neil White