Instructors: Dana Longcope (MSU), Bin Chen (NJIT), Jiong Qiu (MSU), Adam Kowalski (CU)
Course Times:     Spring 2017, Mondays and Wednesdays, 12:00-1:30 pm MT
Location: Duane Physics, Room G-328 (most lectures webcast via WebEx)


Summary

This web-enabled course is the fourth offering of the George Ellery Hale Collaborative Graduate Education (COLLAGE) Program, a joint effort between CU Boulder, the National Solar Observatory (NSO), New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT), University of Hawaii (UH), New Mexico State University (NMSU), Montana State University (MSU), and the High Altitude Observatory (HAO).

This course will cover the physics and observation of solar flares and coronal mass ejections (CMEs). It will cover the basic physical principles involved in flares and CMEs, including gas dynamics, magnetohydrodynamics, kinetic theory, and radiation processes. It will also cover the methods used to observe and study flares, including visible and UV spectroscopy, X-ray spectroscopy, and radio astronomy. Prof. Steven Cranmer is listed as the CU-Boulder "professor of record," but the lectures will be given by a collaboration between four instructors (listed above).

At CU Boulder, this course is an elective for APS graduate students. No pre-requisite or co-requisite courses are mandated.

Course web pages from the main instructors:

The above pages contain a draft schedule of topics to be covered in detail. Below are some archived files for each class session:

  1. Wednesday, Jan. 18: Overview of flares and CMEs (Longcope)
    lecture slides

  2. Monday, Jan. 23: CME fundamentals: MHD and instabilities (Longcope)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  3. Wednesday, Jan. 25: CME fundamentals: role of reconnection (Longcope)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  4. Monday, Jan. 30: CME fundamentals: instability and reconnection (Longcope)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  5. Wednesday, Feb. 1: CME observations: ribbon motions (Qiu)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  6. Monday, Feb. 6: CME observations: coronagraphs (Qiu)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  7. Wednesday, Feb. 8: CME observations: radio (Chen)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  8. Monday, Feb. 13: CME observations: radio and in situ (Chen)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  9. Wednesday, Feb. 15: Flare loop fundamentals: 1D gas dynamics, 0D models (Longcope)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  10. Wednesday, Feb. 22: Flare loop fundamentals: 1D gas dynamics & evaporation (Longcope)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  11. Monday, Feb. 27: Flare loop radiation hydrodynamics: line emission (Longcope)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  12. Wednesday, Mar. 1: Flare loop observations: EUV and X-ray light curves (Qiu)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  13. Monday, Mar. 6: Flare loop observations: EUV and X-ray light curves (Qiu)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  14. Wednesday, Mar. 8: Flare loop observations: Imaging and spectroscopy I (Chen)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  15. Monday, Mar. 20: Flare loop observations: Imaging and spectroscopy II (Chen)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  16. Wednesday, Mar. 22: Impulsive phase fundamentals: charged particle motion (Longcope)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  17. Monday, Mar. 27: Impulsive phase fundamentals: nonthermal particles & distribution functions (Longcope)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  18. Wednesday, Mar. 29: Impulsive phase fundamentals: nonthermal particles & the Fokker-Planck Equation (Longcope)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  19. Monday, Apr. 3: Impulsive phase fundamentals: nonthermal particles & stochastic acceleration (Longcope)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  20. Wednesday, Apr. 5: Impulsive phase radiation: Bremsstrahlung & gyrosynchrotron (Chen)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  21. Monday, Apr. 10: Impulsive phase radiation: Gyromagnetic radiation (Chen)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  22. Wednesday, Apr. 12: Impulsive phase radiation: Radio and HXR imaging spectroscopy (Chen)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  23. Monday, Apr. 17: Impulsive phase radiation: Radio and HXR imaging spectroscopy (Chen)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  24. Wednesday, Apr. 19: Introduction to radiative-hydrodynamic modeling: Dynamics with nonthermal particles (Kowalski)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording

  25. Monday, Apr. 24: Introduction to radiative-hydrodynamic modeling: RADYN Lab I (Kowalski)
    lab description   . . .   WebEx session recording

  26. Wednesday, Apr. 26: Introduction to radiative-hydrodynamic modeling: RADYN Lab II (Kowalski)
    lab description   . . .   WebEx session recording

  27. Monday, May 1: Stellar flares and course wrap-up (Kowalski)
    lecture slides   . . .   WebEx session recording