John T. Gosling Endowed Fellowship

John T. Gosling Endowed Fellowship

Hands-on learning for future solar scientists

For the John T. Gosling Endowed Fellowship, two fellowships of $2,000 each are awarded to graduate students who have demonstrated an intention to study solar-terrestrial physics and/or space-plasma physics, including the study of the Sun, the study of the solar wind, the study of the Sun-Earth connection, or the study of the solar wind’s interaction with planetary magnetospheres.

CU Boulder faculty are encouraged to send a one-page description of the prospective recipient’s academic background and which projects the candidate will (or might be) working on at LASP, to

Dr. John (Jack) T. Gosling was a Senior Research Associate at LASP. He was also a Laboratory Fellow at Los Alamos National Laboratory. Dr. Gosling received his Ph.D. in physics from the University of California Berkeley in 1965.

Dr. Gosling’s research focused on the large-scale structure and magnetic topology of the solar wind, coronal mass ejections, solar wind and geomagnetic disturbances, magnetic reconnection, collisionless shocks, and particle acceleration in space. He worked extensively with plasma and magnetic field data from Vela 2 and 3, IMP 6, 7, and 8, ISEE 1, 2, and 3, Helios, Ulysses, Wind, the Advanced Composition Explorer (ACE), STEREO, and with coronagraph data from Skylab. He was the principal investigator for data analysis for plasma experiments on IMP 6, 7, and 8 and ISEE 1, 2, and 3. He also was actively involved in analyzing and interpreting solar wind data from ACE, Wind, and STEREO.

2020 Award Recipients

The 2020 recipients of the John T. Gosling Endowed Fellowships are Andrea Hughes, Ann Marie Mohan, and Ben Hogan.

Andrea Hughes works with Mike Chaffin on proton aurora at Mars. Ann Marie Mahon works with Frank Crary and Vincent Dols on simulations of the plasma interaction with Jupiter’s moon Europa. Ben Hogan works with Xinlin Li on the Earth’s radiation belts.

Previous Award Recipients

YearPhotoStudent nameLASP advisor
2019Avery SchiffSteve Cranmer
2019Piyush AgrawalMark Rast
2018Hilary EganHilary EganDavid Brain
2018 Lily KromydaLily KromydaBob Ergun
2017Rebecca JolitzRebecca JolitzDavid Brain
 2017Leng KhooLeng KhooXinlin Li
2016Eddie Nerney and Chris FowlerEddie Nerney and Chris FowlerFran Bagenal (Eddie) and Bob Ergun (Chris)
2015Katherine GoodrichKatherine GoodrichBob Ergun
 2015Kun ZhangKun ZhangXinlin Li
2014Julia Stawarz and Tristan WeberJulia Stalwarz and Tristan WeberBob Ergun
Jack Gosling