Charles A. Barth Scholarship in Space Research

Charles A. Barth Scholarship in Space Research

Charles A. Barth Scholarship for undergraduate space research

Dr. Charles A. Barth received his Ph.D. from UCLA, and was a National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Bonn from 1958-59. Before coming to LASP, he worked as a Research Physicist at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory from 1959 to 1965. Dr. Barth was the Director of LASP from 1965 to 1992. He was an Associate Professor from 1965 to 1967 and a Professor in the Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences from 1967 to 2002. Dr. Barth was a Professor Emeritus at LASP and in the Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences at CU Boulder from 2002 through 2014.

Between 1962 and 2002, Dr. Barth served as Principal Investigator for eleven missions and experiments. Among these were Mariner 5, Mariner 6 and 7, Mariner 9, OGO-2, 4, 5, and 6, Atmosphere Explorer-C and D, the Solar Mesosphere Explorer, and the Student Nitric Oxide Experiment. Under his guidance, LASP science instruments journeyed to every planet in the solar system. 

In addition to his long and productive career, Dr. Barth left a lasting legacy through his teaching and mentoring. He generously shared his knowledge and passion with students and was committed to hands-on education and training. He inspired countless undergraduates studying science and engineering. Dr. Barth prioritized involving as many students as possible in his space research and NASA missions. LASP continues to honor Dr. Barth’s legacy by continuing to prioritize student involvement.

In 2013, CU Boulder established the Charles A Barth Scholarship in Space Research to honor his legacy. This scholarship fund continues to support undergraduate students; you can make a donation using the link below.

Dr. Barth died in his home in Boulder, CO on October 14, 2014, at the age of 84.

How to Apply

The Charles A. Barth Scholarship in Space Research will contribute to tuition costs for several LASP undergraduate students enrolled at the University of Colorado Boulder with focused studies related to space research. Awards are typically on the order of  ~$1300 per student.

To apply: Applicants should submit a 300-word statement of their proposed research project, an up-to-date academic transcript, and a one-page CV that includes any previous research experience and lists the LASP researcher who would supervise the applicant’s work, plus an additional potential reference. The application deadline is around May 30.

Please send a single .pdf file to

2022 Award Recipients

Jay Cessna works with Dave Brain studying habitable words including investigating atmospheric escape of weakly magnetized planets.

Patricio Ramos works with Lauren Blum on the Dual Aperture Relativistic Telescope (DART) instrument to measure the electron precipitation in Earth’s magnetosphere.

Shivank Chadda works with David Malaspina studying interstellar dust properties from the WAVES electric field instrument on NASA’s Wind spacecraft.

Samuel Aberbook works with Paul Hayne studying Jupiter’s moon Europa to make model predictions of its surface and subsurface temperatures.

2021 Award Recipients

Josephine Johnson works with Dave Brain and Robin Ramstad to study the magnetospheres of Mars and Venus.

Adrienne Pickerill works with Nick Schneider to study and identify different types of aurora in Mars atmosphere.

Patrick McCreery works with Mark Rast to study and identify solar acoustic modes using machine learning techniques.

2020 Award Recipients

Ethan Ayari works with Mihaly Horanyi on visualizing ring currents around planetary magnetospheres

Ace Stratton works with Bruce Jakosky on the role of dust storms in the loss of water from Mars

Ben Johnston works with Nick Schneider to study solar energetic particle events triggered in the MAVEN-IUVS instrument in orbit around Mars

2019 Award Recipients

Tara Tomlinson with advisor Paul Hayne

2018 Award Recipients

Rachel Zac Milby with advisor Nick Schneider

Carlos Eytan Gary Bicas with advisor Paul Hayne

2017 Award Recipients

Parker Hinton with advisor Fran Bagenal

Rachel Lee McClure with advisor Mark Rast

2016 Award Recipient

Skylar Shaver with advisor Laila Andersson

2015 Award Recipient

Willow Reed (Advisor Marty Snow)

2014 Award Recipient

Wren Suess with advisor Marty Snow