Please do NOT post ITAR-restricted content on this site.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

↑ You must log-in to edit this page    

Instructions: how to attend the meeting

Instructions: using Slack to chat with MMS team during meeting

Join our Slack => https://join.slack.com/t/mmsswt102020/shared_invite/zt-hkyfm8m9-8NbEmn~dPkF3PHcRqObtzg

Test & troubleshoot your WebEx connection

SWG: Tuesday, 4-4:45pm Eastern (1-1:45pm Pacific, 10-10:45pm Paris, 5-5:45am Tokyo). Private, invitation from Dr. Burch only.

Please refresh your browser windows frequently as folks will be updating continuously



Tuesday, October 6

10 am Eastern (7 am Pacific, 4 pm Paris, 11 pm Tokyo)

PLENARY SCIENCE SESSION 

Major Developments not yet familiar to the team

DROP YOUR PLENARY PRESENTATIONS AT THIS LINK

Connection Link:  WEBEX-1

Webex host: Kevin Genestreti

Chair: BurchTuesday, October 6 Plenary ScienceTIME
10:00am EasternOpening, Welcome, Review of Logistics10 min
10:10Jim Burch: MMS 2nd Extended Mission Science Opportunities20 min
10:30Jason Shuster: Dayside Magnetic Reconnection: Milestones of the MMS Microscope
20 min
10:50Joachim Birn: Simulations of Energetic Particle Fluxes in the Magnetotail
20 min
11:10Dan Gershman:  Electron Dynamics Resolved with MMS15 min
11:25Leslie Garrison: Outreach and Communication Update15 min

YOU MUST DISCONNECT FROM ONE WEBEX SESSION IN ORDER TO OPEN ANOTHER  

Wednesday, October 7

10 am Eastern (7 am Pacific, 4 pm Paris, 11 pm Tokyo)

PLENARY SCIENCE SESSION

Major Developments not yet familiar to the team

DROP YOUR PLENARY PRESENTATIONS AT THIS LINK

Connection Link:  WEBEX-1

Webex host: Kevin Genestreti

Chair: GilesWednesday, October 7 Plenary ScienceTIME
10:00am EasternOpening, Welcome, Review of Logistics10 min
10:10Jim Clapsadle/Trevor Williams: 2nd Extended Mission Operational Plans20 min
10:30Akhtar Ardakani: Heavy Ions in Nightside Reconnection15 min
10:45Rick Wilder: Kinetic Structures Shaping the Flanks : A Review of MMS Kelvin-Helmholtz Discoveries
20 min
11:05Christine Gabrielse: Meso-Scale Injections from the Plasma Sheet20 min
11:25Li-Jen Chen: Faces of the Reconnection Layer: Laminar vs. Turbulent15 min

YOU MUST DISCONNECT FROM ONE WEBEX SESSION IN ORDER TO OPEN ANOTHER  

Thursday, October 8

10 am Eastern (7 am Pacific, 4 pm Paris, 11 pm Tokyo)

PLENARY SCIENCE SESSION

Major Developments not yet familiar to the team

DROP YOUR PLENARY PRESENTATIONS AT THIS LINK

Connection Link:  WEBEX-1

Webex host: Kevin Genestreti

Chair: TorbertThursday, October 8 Plenary ScienceTIME
10:00am EasternOpening, Welcome, Review of Logistics10 min
10:10Julia Stawarz:
Turbulence in the Era of MMS: What we have learned and ways forward
20 min
10:30

Joo Hwang: Magnetosphere Ionosphere Coupling

Including Cold Plasma Contributions Review

20 min
10:50

Kai Poh: Dissipating Magnetotail Flux Ropes Overview

15 min
11:05Katy Goodrich: How MMS Observations have Shocked the World!
A Shock Physics Review
20 min
11:25Kris Larsen/Barbara Giles: 2nd Extended Mission Data Access Initiatives15 min
11:40Katariina Nykyri: Daytona, FL, USA Community Workshop~5 min

YOU MUST DISCONNECT FROM ONE WEBEX SESSION IN ORDER TO OPEN ANOTHER  



Tuesday, October 6 

1 pm Eastern (10 am Pacific, 7 pm Paris, 2 am Tokyo)

AFTERNOON SPLINTERS (2 HOURS)

SCIENCE DISCUSSION SPLINTERS: 
1pm Eastern, 10am Pacific, 7pm Paris, 2am Tokyo
3-min flash talks plus discussion led by the Chairs

Goal: ID major projects/questions underway and those still to be addressed – Spawn further collaborations

EACH SPLINTER HAS ITS OWN LINK FOR ITS AGENDA AND TO DROP PRESENTATIONS

Connection Link:  See below or the Connections page

Organizers:SCIENCE SPLINTER TOPIC

Chairs: Kevin Genestreti, Mojtaba Akhavan-Tafti, Kris Pritchard, Tony Rogers, Yi-Hsin Liu


Webex hosts: KP

link to the program and drop box →

Magnetic Reconnection I

WEBEX-2

Chairs: Pat Reiff, Jason Shuster, Rumi Nakamura


Webex hosts: KD

link to the program and drop box →

Kinetic Structures in the Magnetosphere

WEBEX-3

  YOU MUST DISCONNECT FROM ONE WEBEX SESSION IN ORDER TO OPEN ANOTHER


Wednesday, October 7

1 pm Eastern (10 am Pacific, 7 pm Paris, 2 am Tokyo)

AFTERNOON SPLINTERS (2 HOURS)

3-min flash talks plus discussion led by the Chairs
Goal: ID major projects/questions underway and those still to be addressed – Spawn further collaborations

EACH SPLINTER HAS ITS OWN LINK FOR ITS AGENDA AND TO DROP PRESENTATIONS

Connection Link:  See below or the Connections page

Organizers:SCIENCE SPLINTER TOPIC

Chairs: Kevin Genestreti, Mojtaba Akhavan-Tafti,  Kris Pritchard, Tony Rogers, Yi-Hsin Liu


Webex hosts: AM

link to the program and drop box →

Magnetic Reconnection II

WEBEX-2

Chairs: Joo Hwang, Rick Wilder, Katariina Nykyri


Webex hosts: RS

link to the program and drop box →

Kinetic Structures Shaping the Flanks

WEBEX-3

Chairs: Ian Cohen, Drew Turner, Christine Gabrielse, Trevor Leonard


Webex hosts: KD

link to the program and drop box →

Inner Magnetospheric Dynamics


  YOU MUST DISCONNECT FROM ONE WEBEX SESSION IN ORDER TO OPEN ANOTHER


Thursday, October 8

1 pm Eastern (10 am Pacific, 7 pm Paris, 2 am Tokyo)

AFTERNOON SPLINTERS (2 HOURS)

SCIENCE DISCUSSION SPLINTERS: 
1pm Eastern, 10am Pacific, 7pm Paris, 2am Tokyo
3-min flash talks plus discussion led by the Chairs

Goal: ID major projects/questions underway and those still to be addressed – Spawn further collaborations

EACH SPLINTER HAS ITS OWN LINK FOR ITS AGENDA AND TO DROP PRESENTATIONS

Connection Link:  See below or the Connections page

Organizers:SCIENCE SPLINTERS TOPIC

Chairs: Bill Matthaeus, Narges Ahmadi, Owen Roberts, Riddhi Bandyopadhyay, Alex Chasapis


Webex host: KG

link to the program and drop box →

Kinetic Turbulence

WEBEX-2

Chairs: Hadi Madanian, Li-Jen Chen, Mihir Desai, Steven Schwartz


Webex hosts: MS

link to the program and drop box →

Shock Physics

WEBEX-3

Chairs: Stephen Fuselier, Sergio Toledo


Webex hosts: KL

link to the program and drop box →

Magnetosphere Ionosphere Coupling including Cold Plasma Contributions

WEBEX-4

  YOU MUST DISCONNECT FROM ONE WEBEX SESSION IN ORDER TO OPEN ANOTHER




Please be aware of the more convenient time slots for our Pacific and European Colleagues and prioritize those for their participation

Tuesday, October 6

30-min VIRTUAL POSTER CONNECTIONS

Simultaneous discussions to switch between –> every 10 min, presenter gives short summary and invites discussion
Presenters choose their most convenient time block and enter their information below

AFTERNOON POSTERS #1 (5pm Eastern, 2pm Pacific, 11pm Paris, 6am Tokyo)

DROP YOUR POSTER AT THIS DROP BOX HERE, WE'LL LINK IT TO YOUR SESSION BELOW

WebEx Hosts: Michael Starkey, Kevin Genestreti

WebEx link: WEBEX-Posters-1

Tuesday, October 6
5pm Eastern, 2pm Pacific, 11pm Paris, 6am Tokyo
Poster TitleConnection
Shan-Chang LinFast magnetic reconnection induced by resistivity gradient in MHD simulations

(Breakout sessions)

Space for walk-onEnter your presentation title

(Breakout sessions)

 

AFTERNOON POSTERS #2 (5:30pm Eastern, 2:30pm Pacific, 11:30pm Paris, 6:30am Tokyo)

DROP YOUR POSTER AT THIS DROP BOX HERE, WE'LL LINK IT TO YOUR SESSION BELOW

WebEx hosts: Kris Pritchard, Kristie LLera

WebEx link: WEBEX-Posters-2

Tuesday, October 6
5:30pm Eastern, 2:30pm Pacific, 11:30pm Paris, 6:30am Tokyo
Poster TitleConnection
Richard DentonPolynomial reconstruction using data from a range of time

(Breakout sessions)

Space for walk-onEnter your presentation title

(Breakout sessions)

 

Wednesday, October 7

30-min VIRTUAL POSTER CONNECTIONS

Simultaneous discussions to switch between –> every 10 min, presenter gives short summary and invites discussion
Presenters choose their most convenient time block and enter their information below

MORNING POSTERS (9am Eastern, 6am Pacific, 3pm Paris, 10pm Tokyo)

DROP YOUR POSTER AT THIS DROP BOX HERE, WE'LL LINK IT TO YOUR SESSION BELOW

WebEx Hosts: Andy Marshall, Kristie LLera

WebEx link: WEBEX-Posters-1

Wednesday, October 7
9am Eastern, 6am Pacific, 3pm Paris, 10pm Tokyo
Poster TitleConnection
Hiroshi Hasegawa, et al.
Linear eigenmode analysis of the tearing instability in electron-scale current sheet with nongyrotropic electron pressure

(Breakout sessions)

Rungployphan Kieokaew et al.
Statistical Relationship between IMF Conditions and the Helicity Sign of FTE Flux Ropes

(Breakout sessions)

Naritoshi Kitamura
Estimation of inhomogeneity factor for nonlinear wave particle interaction in an EMIC wave event

(Breakout sessions)

Enter your name
Enter your presentation title

(Breakout sessions)

 

AFTERNOON POSTERS #1 (5pm Eastern, 2pm Pacific, 11pm Paris, 6am Tokyo)

DROP YOUR POSTER AT THIS DROP BOX HERE, WE'LL LINK IT TO YOUR SESSION BELOW

WebEx Hosts: Joo Hwang, Kevin Genestreti

WebEx link: WEBEX-Posters-1

Wednesday, October 7
5pm Eastern, 2pm Pacific, 11pm Paris, 6am Tokyo
Poster TitleConnection
Paul Cassak, Haoming Liang, Hasan Barbhuiya, Oreste Pezzi, Sergio Servidio, Francesco Valentini, Gary Zank
Kinetic Entropy-Based Measures of Distribution Function Non-Maxwellianity: Theory and Simulations

(Breakout sessions)

Charlie Farrugia, Tony Rogers, Roy Torbert, Kevin Genestreti, Takuma Nakamura et al.An encounter with the ion and electron diffusion regions during flapping of a twisted tail current sheet

(Breakout sessions)

Rhyan Sawyer
TRICE 2 Observations of Low-Energy Ion Upflows Near the Poleward Edge of the Cusp

(Breakout sessions)

Michael StarkeyEnergization of He+ pickup ions at quasi-perpendicular shocks 

(Breakout sessions)


AFTERNOON POSTERS #2 (5:30pm Eastern, 2:30pm Pacific, 11:30pm Paris, 6:30am Tokyo)

DROP YOUR POSTER AT THIS DROP BOX HERE, WE'LL LINK IT TO YOUR SESSION BELOW

WebEx Hosts: Kyunghwan Dokgo, Kristie LLera

WebEx link: WEBEX-Posters-2

Tuesday, October 6
5:30pm Eastern, 2:30pm Pacific, 11:30pm Paris, 6:30am Tokyo
Poster TitleConnection
Anthony Rogers, et al.

An update on ion-scale current sheet distribution in the geomagnetic tail

Webex Posters 2

  

AFTERNOON POSTERS #3 (6 pm Eastern, 3pm Pacific, 12am Paris, 7am Tokyo)

DROP YOUR POSTER AT THIS DROP BOX HERE, WE'LL LINK IT TO YOUR SESSION BELOW

WebEx Hosts: Kevin Delano, Kristie Llera

WebEx link: WEBEX-Posters-1

Wednesday, October 7
6pm Eastern, 3pm Pacific, Midnight Paris, 7am Tokyo
Poster TitleConnection
Ivan VaskoMultisatellite MMS Analysis of Electron Holes in the Earth's Magnetotail: Origin, Properties, Velocity Gap, and Transverse Instability

WEBEX-Posters-1

After the posters – join us for a social hour! 


Thursday, October 8

30-min VIRTUAL POSTER CONNECTIONS

Simultaneous discussions to switch between –> every 10 min, presenter gives short summary and invites discussion
Presenters choose their most convenient time block and enter their information below

MORNING POSTERS (9am Eastern, 6am Pacific, 3pm Paris, 10pm Tokyo)

DROP YOUR POSTER AT THIS DROP BOX HERE, WE'LL LINK IT TO YOUR SESSION BELOW

WebEx Hosts: Michael Starkey, Kevin Genestreti

WebEx link: WEBEX-Posters-1

Thursday, October 8
9am Eastern, 6am Pacific, 3pm Paris, 10pm Tokyo
Poster TitleConnection
Giovanni Lapenta, David Newman, Martin Goldman, Stefan Eriksson3D Simulation of electron scale turbulent currents in reconnection outflows

(Breakout sessions)

Quentin LenouvelIdentification of Electron Diffusion Regions with an AI approach on MMS data at the Earth's magnetopause

(Breakout sessions)

Mark HubbertElectron-Only Tail Current Sheets and their Temporal Evolution

(Breakout sessions)

Enter your name
Enter your presentation title

(Breakout sessions)

 

AFTERNOON POSTERS #1 (5pm Eastern, 2pm Pacific, 11pm Paris, 6am Tokyo)

DROP YOUR POSTER AT THIS DROP BOX HERE, WE'LL LINK IT TO YOUR SESSION BELOW

WebEx Hosts: Joon Kim, Kevin Genestreti

WebEx link: WEBEX-Posters-1

Thursday, October 8
5pm Eastern, 2pm Pacific, 11pm Paris, 6am Tokyo
Poster TitleConnection
Steve Schwartz et al.Current Sheets in the Earth's Quasi-parallel Magnetosheath

(Breakout sessions)

Owen Roberts, Jessica Thwaites, Luca Sorriso-Valvo, Rumi Nakamura, Zoltan VorosHigher-order statistics in compressive solar wind plasma turbulence: High-resolution density observations from MMS

(Breakout sessions)

Ivan VaskoElectrostatic fluctuations in the Earth's bow shock

(Breakout sessions)

Enter your name
Enter your presentation title

(Breakout sessions)


AFTERNOON POSTERS #2 (5:30pm Eastern, 2:30pm Pacific, 11:30pm Paris, 6:30am Tokyo)

DROP YOUR POSTER AT THIS DROP BOX HERE, WE'LL LINK IT TO YOUR SESSION BELOW

WebEx Hosts: Rhyan Sawyer, Kristie LLera

WebEx link: WEBEX-Posters-2

Thursday, October 8
5:30pm Eastern, 2:30pm Pacific, 11:30pm Paris, 6:30am Tokyo
Poster TitleConnection
Naoki BesshoKinetic instabilities and magnetic reconnection in the Earth's quasi-parallel bow shock

(Breakout sessions)

Scott Boardsen
Exploring Coherent Wave Signatures in Ion and Electron Phase Space Density Measurements

(Breakout sessions)

Enter your nameEnter your presentation title

(Breakout sessions)

Enter your name
Enter your presentation title

(Breakout sessions)

  

AFTERNOON POSTERS #3 (6 pm Eastern, 3pm Pacific, 12am Paris, 7am Tokyo)

DROP YOUR POSTER AT THIS DROP BOX HERE, WE'LL LINK IT TO YOUR SESSION BELOW

WebEx Hosts: Hadi Madanian, Kevin Genestreti

WebEx link: WEBEX-Posters-1

Thursday, October 8
6pm Eastern, 3pm Pacific, Midnight Paris, 7am Tokyo
Poster TitleConnection

Shan Wang et al.

MMS observations of 3s ULF waves

(Breakout sessions)

Enter your nameEnter your presentation title

(Breakout sessions)

Enter your name
Enter your presentation title

(Breakout sessions)

Enter your name
Enter your presentation title

(Breakout sessions)


  • No labels